Milk fat or butterfat, standard of semi-sweet chocolate and confounding “Contains: Milk” indications, is actually just clarified butter, which, depending on how it is prepared and how the ghee you’re familiar with is prepared, is the same thing. So all that again: milk fat (spacing irrelevant) = butterfat (spacing irrelevant) = clarified butter = ghee.
So basically milk fat is American ghee.
We’ve been eating it this whole time. In Tollhouse Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips even! And we didn’t even know. We first hear of “geee”, yes with a hard g, and we think it’s soo exotic, yet there’s a good chance butterfat sans milk solids is in our intestines right then when we hear about it. Thank you, America, thank you.
If you’re lactose intolerant, casein sensitive or allergic, or otherwise dairy-free paleo (hopefully not vegan paleo, but it is technically possible…), then don’t be alarmed at seeing milk fat or butterfat as an ingredient and ignore the “Contains: Milk” portent as the expected ignorant vagueness from the American food industry. It’s all because the masses are too stupid to make their own food/ingredient decisions—no sense in clarifying all-of-it milk vs. lactose vs. casein vs. just the leftovers. Only people with milk allergies are paying attention to this, so our job here is done! That’s right, FDA.
I’m either severely lactose intolerant or casein sensitive (not sure yet which it is, but I’ve operated for 2 years as lactose intolerant and avoided it like the plague) and nothing with milk fat in it has noticeably affected me. And believe me, the way milk affects me, I would notice.
So go forth and happily consume chocolate (and I guess other foods, don’t know why you want to eat anything other than chocolate…) with milk fat, all who flee from lactose and casein!